This Is My America

The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching yet uplifting first novel that explores the racist injustices in the American justice system.

Every week, 17-year-old Tracy Beaumont writes letters to Innocence X, asking the organization to help her father, an innocent Black man on death row. After seven years, Tracy is running out of time - her dad has only 267 days left. Then the unthinkable happens. The police arrive in the night, and Tracy's older brother, Jamal, goes from being a bright, promising track star to a "thug" on the run, accused of killing a white girl.

 

Determined to save her brother, Tracy investigates what really happened between Jamal and Angela down at the Pike. But will Tracy and her family survive the uncovering of the skeletons of their Texas town's racist history that still haunt the present? 

 

Fans of Nic Stone, Tiffany D. Jackson, and Jason Reynolds won't want to miss this provocative and gripping debut.

 

 

Published by Random House Books for Young Readers, July 28, 2020

  • 1631443365tiktok-icon
  • twitter-logo-e1371583610686_edited
  • social_facebook_box_blue_edited
  • pinterest-512
  • instagram
ThisismyAmerica_HC3D_PG[1].png

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
1/6
Picture1.jpg

Kim Johnson’s gripping debut is a revelation—an incendiary, crucial look at the American justice system delivered as an uplifting read where love conquers hate and justice is delivered in the face of injustice.   -Jun 17, 2021

ThisismyAmerica_HC3D_spine.png
HBOMax Logo

In The News

Follow Kim

Would you like to be the first to see cover reveals, get pre-order dates, promotions, author appearances, and more? 

Follow her on social media and subscribe to Kim's (monthly) newsletter, and you'll be the first to hear about all of that and more.

You can also look for these:

#InvisibleSon #ThisIsMyAmerica   #KimJohnson   #TIMA   #BlackBooks   #BlackBooksMatter   #WNDB   #BlackBookstagram   #BookNerd   #SocialJustice   #thriller   #YAThriller   #YABooks   #DiverseBooks   #BlackAuthors   #YAAuthors

  • 1631443365tiktok-icon
  • twitter-logo-e1371583610686_edited
  • social_facebook_box_blue_edited
  • pinterest-512
  • instagram
Fan Mail Icon Gray.png
Newsletter Icon Gray.png
Contact Icon Gray.png